Lightroom Returning to Old Import

In Standard by Patrick

If you’re one of those unhappy photographers about the redesigned Lightroom Import tool that appeared in the latest update, there’s some great news for you today. Adobe has heard your cries, and in typical Adobe form, listened to their customers and now the company says that it will restore the previous import experience. The screens are vastly different and the amount of information that you could include with previous transfers was missed. Not one to complain about progress, I was not upset by the change but a great many were and I have not issues with them reverting back to the old method of importing.

Here is the old Lightroom Screen appearence

Here is the old Lightroom Screen appearence

I think what had everybody so upset with the change was not the change itself, but the fact that Adobe departed from its usual tactic of soliciting feedback from actual users prior to making the change. As a whole, Adobe is really pretty good about obtaining input from the users of their products and generally try to tailor the products to the end users needs and wants.

New Lightroom appearance

New Lightroom appearance

What’s more, the released update included bugs that would slowed down, caused crashes and made Lightroom freeze up (which Adobe quickly apologized for and fixed). Along with this common functions like eject after import and move on import were gone much to the dismay of many. What I really like about Adobe is they learn from their mistakes.

“We will continue to investigate ways to improve the ease of use of our photography products and will do so via an open dialog, with both existing and new customers,”

This continues to be my digital asset management of choice and I know that Adobe will do the right thing by all their loyal users.

Share this Post